DCCC Launches 'Hypocrisy Hall Of Fame'

This is awesome.

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC) has launched a page on their site which continues and makes permanent some of the attacks begun by Rachel Maddow on her Tuesday, February 9 show regarding the hypocrisy of GOP Representatives and Senators who loudly decried President Obama’s stimulus package (sometimes in quite nasty terms, borrowing rhetoric and invective from the teabaggers), but who then turned around within months and equally loudly ballyhooed specific projects in their districts/states which were paid for by stimulus money.

Maddow has truly broken the ice in making this attack manifest, and it’s long overdue. The phrase “party of no” has been in use for some time, but – while accurate – that’s mostly just a convenient yet toothless epithet, rather than a legitimate counter to obstinate GOP obstructionism. And it doesn’t address at all the issue that is the very effective heart of Maddow’s new argument, a hypocrisy both so routine and so rank that it beggars the imagination.

What Maddow has begun is of a higher order than simple sloganeering. Her above-linked show segment began to push back on not just the obstructionism, but on the GOP’s thorough disingenuousness and hypocrisy that’s gone hand-in-hand with that obstruction. A prime example (though of course there are plenty of others): the stimulus of last year. It has become a boringly predictable staple of Republican squawking points that the stimulus was a “pork-laden failure,” a “waste of time and money.” Never mind that virtually all credible economists will tell you that, although the effects of such broad-based things are difficult to quantify too specifically, in macro terms, the stimulus has unquestionably resulted in things being less bad than they otherwise would have been – and many would say flat-out that it prevented another great depression.

Yet you’d never know it to hear most Republican elected officials talk. I won’t bother linking to their claims about the stimulus not just because they’re false and disingenuous, but because it’s been impossible to have avoided hearing tons of them over the last eight months or so unless one avoided watching any news at all. But what Maddow did – and the DCCC is now continuing, in a permanent, web-accessible way – is to thoroughly document just how much crap these GOP liars have been full of when they’ve made these charges. She does so by ruthlessly documenting which loudmouth GoOPers railed against the stimulus to the TV cameras, while also taking credit for (or at least praising) money from the stimulus spent on projects in their home states/districts. For just over ten excruciating (or wonderful, depending on your perspective) minutes on Tuesday’s show, Maddow literally ran a movie-credit-like scrolling list of names of such hypocrites. And now, for your casual perusal or reference, the DCCC has immortalized it on the web.

After the fold, I’ve included the list of names, but the DCCC web site goes much farther than that. For each GoOPer Representative or Senator, it gives both the specific quotes they’ve made against the stimulus bill, and also the quote(s) they’ve made praising the positive effects of the stimulus-funded projects in their own states/districts…along with, in some cases, photos of the Senator/Rep. handing over one of those big, fake, cheesy Publishers-Clearinghouse-like checks to various people, straight from the stimulus. Enjoy (and check the DCCC site for the full interactive menu):

Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02)
Rep. Mike Castle (DE-AL)
Rep. Pat Tiberi (OH-12)
Rep. Geoff Davis (KY-04)
Rep. Bill Shuster (PA-09)
Rep. Eric Cantor (VA-07)
Rep. Pete Sessions (TX-32)
Rep. Jack Kingston (GA-01)
Rep. Michael McCaul (TX-10)
Rep. Joe Barton (TX-06)
Rep. Michael Burgess (TX-26)
Rep. John Carter (TX-31)
Rep. Mike Conway (TX-11)
Rep. John Culberson (TX-07)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Rep. Kay Granger (TX-12)
Rep. Ralph Hall (TX-04)
Rep. Sam Johnson (TX-03)
Rep. Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Rep. Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
Rep. Pete Olson (TX-22)
Rep. Ron Paul (TX-14)
Rep. Ted Poe (TX-02)
Rep. Lamar Smith (TX-21)
Rep. Mac Thornberry (TX-13)
Rep. Frank Wolf (VA-10)
Rep. Phil Gingrey (GA-11)
Rep. Eric Cantor (VA-07)
Rep. Bill Young (FL-10)
Rep. Judy Biggert (IL-13)
Rep Mary Fallin (OK-05)
Rep. Patrick Tiberi (OH-10)
Rep. Don Manzullo (IL-16)
Rep. Kevin McCarthy (CA-22)
Rep. Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)
Rep. Dan Lungren (CA-03)
Rep. David Dreier (CA-26)
Rep. Jerry Moran (KS-01)
Rep. Todd Tiahrt (KS-04)
Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (WV-02)
Rep. Steve King (IA-05)
Rep. Elton Gallegly (CA-24)
Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon (CA-25)
Rep. Jerry Lewis (CA-41)
Rep. George Radanovich (CA-19)
Rep. Tom Latham (IA-04)
Rep. Tom Petri (WI-06)
Rep. Steven LaTourette (OH-14)
Rep. Dean Heller (NV-02)
Rep. Aaron Schock (IL-18)
Rep. Mary Bono Mack (CA-45)
Rep. Dave Reichert (WA-08)
Rep. Mike Coffman (CO-06)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (PA-05)
Rep. Denny Rehberg (MT-AL)
Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03)
Rep. Chris Lee (NY-26)
Rep. Adam Putnam (FL-18)
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-18)
Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart (FL-21)
Rep. Tom Rooney (FL-16)
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
Rep. Ginny Brown-Waite (FL-05)
Rep. Cliff Stearns (FL-06)
Rep. Bill Posey (FL-15)
Rep. Pete Hoekstra (MI-02)
Rep. Leonard Lance (NJ-07)
Rep. Greg Walden (OR-02)
Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-09)
Rep. Don Young (AK-AL)
Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-44)
Rep. John Mica (FL-07)

One thought on “DCCC Launches 'Hypocrisy Hall Of Fame'

Comments are closed.